Bit Of A Rant From Me!

Decorating By Jo-melia Updated 26 Aug 2010 , 2:41pm by imagenthatnj

Jo-melia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jo-melia Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 3:54am
post #1 of 32

Long story, short(ish) -
I'm making a wedding cake for my sister in law, she showed me a pic of a simple white cake with some black lacey ribbon as borders, it was lovely. She was going to buy the ribbon for me, since I'm doing the rest free/as a gift (not that I have a choice as I'm only a hobby baker and am not licensed!)

Fast forward a little, she purchases the ribbon/lace, it looks a lot like this
http://www.carnmeal.com/data/product/RART2529/large.jpg except of course it is black, it's NOTHING like the original picture! <--No offence intended to that lace, but it's not what I expected!! lol

Now I'm wishing she had just let me buy the lace, but it is what it is and I'm not going to say anything because it is her cake, and her day!

All done, I feel better now I've gotten that out!

ETA: Sorry I put this in the wrong place! icon_redface.gif

31 replies
gscout73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gscout73 Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 4:14am
post #2 of 32

Yeeeaaaahhh.... That's not exactly lace. I'm curious about the original pic. Do you have it and are you able to upload a copy? Did she keep the receipt so she can take that trim back and let you get the right stuff? icon_confused.gif

Sandy

mbark Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbark Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 4:15am
post #3 of 32

bummer. it will look alright, but that's not what I pictured from your description either.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 6:30am
post #4 of 32

It's hard when you have one vision and then the client changes it. Goes against the "artist" side of a caker. BUT I would use the lace she bought and you may end up very surprised at how wonderful it could look and she'll be pleased that you went with her desire.

Cat

Jo-melia Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 11:12am