Wedding Cakes Help

Decorating By barnes113 Updated 7 Jul 2010 , 8:38am by arseknoll1

barnes113 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
barnes113 Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 5:13am
post #1 of 14

Hi, I'm a newbie and planned to do my first wedding cake, i was wondering what supplies would i have to pick up and tutorial that u guys many know of, i'm self taught and i have done several cakes on my own but this is on task that just seems to big any help would be great....Thank in advance.

13 replies
pugmama1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pugmama1 Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 6:12am
post #2 of 14

The supplies will depend on the size and design of your cake. Figure out with the bride how many servings, for that will determine how big a cake. Will it be buttercream or fondant? Will there be a filling other than buttercream? Take the time to figure all the ingredients from vanilla to eggs, etc. that you will need and plan enough time to acquire them. Do you have the pans for the design of the cake, eg. square or round or other? You will need a sturdy base for the cake- either a cake drum like Wilton makes, make your own out of foam core or cover a wooden board. The base needs to be extra sturdy to carry the weight of a large cake. You will need cardboard separators for the tiers and figure out how you will support these tiers. With dowels or some other system. Will you need ribbon or anything else to place on the cake? How will you transport the cake? Will you need some boxes? Then allow yourself alot of extra time- way more than you think you will need. Plan your baking and decorating time. Your first wedding cake comes with alot of pressure. Put all this down on paper- don't just keep it in your head. Good luck- you will have a great learning experience and the opportunity to take the wedding cake plunge!

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 6:12am
post #3 of 14

I have to ask... if this task is too big, why are you doing it?