Can You Put Regular Pictures On A Cake Somehow????

Decorating By jessica83 Updated 29 Jun 2010 , 9:29pm by luddroth

jessica83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessica83 Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 11

I am still quite new to cake decorating and I have someone that wants a picture of their daughter on the cake. I was wondering how to put photos on a cake? I do not have a way to put them on edible paper and was wondering if I could just attach them somehow? How do I do this? Any help would be appreciated!!! icon_confused.gif

10 replies
kattyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kattyann Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 8:04pm
post #2 of 11

I put photos on cakes by covering them with plastic wrap. I put the pic face down and pull the wrap tightly across the back and sometimes tape it. The only problem I ever have run into is having it wrinkle. Keep checking the face of the photo and adjust the wrap as needed, going horizntal and then vertical. I use to use the origianal photo, now I scan it and use the scanned pic. Never had any real problems. Just put an icing border around it.

michel30014 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michel30014 Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 8:06pm
post #3 of 11

Sure can!!! Have the picture printed, then cut it out leaving a bit of white space around it. Use laminating sheets which you can buy at Walmart. I actually found a roll of laminate for $5 at Walmart last year. I still have plenty left. Just make sure after you laminate you use your fingernail or thumbnail to "seal" around the edges. To put it on the cake, take a bit of buttercream icing and spread along the back of the laminated pic and attach to the cake. I just piped along the edges of the laminate to cover and help the pic stay down. This is what I did to the following cakes!
LL

michel30014 Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 8:10pm
post #4 of 11

Sorry, here's the other cake I had a laminated pic on.

michel30014 Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 8:16pm
post #5 of 11