How To Decorate With Fresh Flowers?

Decorating By bricker Updated 1 Jul 2010 , 4:16pm by bricker

bricker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bricker Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 11:21am
post #1 of 12

Hi Everyone,

I have never used fresh flowers on a cake before. I have a customer who wants fresh flowers placed all around the top of her cake around the edge. She wants them to be multi colored and bright.

Can I place fresh flowers on top of the cake (with a little frosting) as long as I use organic flowers?

Thanks for your help!

bricker

11 replies
Ballymena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ballymena Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 5:11am
post #2 of 12

Yes if they are organic and edible flowers. Go to http://whatscookingamerica.net/EdibleFlowers/EdibleFlowersMain.htm for a list.

cocoasensations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cocoasensations Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 8:23am
post #3 of 12

I've never tried using fresh flowers in a cake but I think it would be nice...Please post pictures here for the finished product..Thanks

bricker Posted 23 Jun 2010 , 11:02am
post #4 of 12

Thanks for getting back to me on this. I really appreciate it. Thank you for the website with the list of edible flowers. That is really very helpful.

bricker

littledeer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littledeer Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 2:58pm
post #5 of 12

I am making my first wedding cake for a friend and she wants fresh flowers on top of hers too. I purchased flower spikes from my local cake decorating store. They are little vases that hold water and keep the flowers watered and the flower stem does not ever touch the cake. Good luck

bricker Posted 25 Jun 2010 , 4:33pm
post #6 of 12

I forgot to ask.....how far in advance can you put fresh flowers on a cake?

bricker

JenniferMI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferMI Posted 27 Jun 2010 , 1:57pm
post #7 of 12