Should I Be Offended, I Think I Should!!!!!!

Decorating By happigolucki35 Updated 17 Jun 2010 , 4:06am by happigolucki35

happigolucki35 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
happigolucki35 Posted 16 Jun 2010 , 11:42pm
post #1 of 39

I am a home baker and I hold my tasting at the local coffee shop, I had a wedding consultation/tasting today with a couple, whom by the way is getting married in less than 60 days. The bride asked me "Are the cakes on your website, cakes you've made or did you just swipe them from somewhere". I was very offended by this statement, I remained a Christian and assured her that I had made the cakes.
I could not get this out of my head for the rest of the consultation. If you have to question someone's integrity, why would you want them to make your wedding cake. I thought she was rude. Am I over reacting?

38 replies
Kellbella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kellbella Posted 16 Jun 2010 , 11:55pm
post #2 of 39

icon_surprised.gificon_surprised.gif Wow...I can't believe she said that! I think you handled it very well...I would have had to tell her she had some nerve to ask such a question!

JohnnyCakes1966 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JohnnyCakes1966 Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 12:02am
post #3 of 39

Yep, you're over-reacting. icon_biggrin.gificon_wink.gif It seems to be common for people to swipe pictures from the Internet and claim to have done the work themselves. The bride doesn't know you so you can't take it personally. She's interviewing you for this important role in her wedding just like you would a doctor before letting them perform surgery. She wanted to make sure you can deliver the cake you are showing her.

sberryp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sberryp Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 12:05am
post #4 of 39