Sugar Paste Gerbera Daisy

Decorating By huskerfan Updated 19 Jun 2010 , 1:37am by Lita829

huskerfan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
huskerfan Posted 16 Jun 2010 , 8:35pm
post #1 of 13

What do you charge for sugar paste gerbera daisies? I did a wedding cake with real gerbera daisies but a bride has requested a simular cake but with sugar daisies and I have not a clue what to charge per flower. Any help would be very greatful. Thanks.... icon_biggrin.gif

12 replies
HobbyCaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HobbyCaker Posted 16 Jun 2010 , 8:48pm
post #2 of 13

I recently took the class with Jennifer Dontz, we made the Gerbera as one of the flowers (in my pics) I believe she said she charges anywhere from $8 up, I guess it would also depend on your area and what your bride is willing to pay, where I live I would be lucky to get $6. for them. I took the class for fun, I am just a hobby baker, but they were fun to make.

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 12:53am
post #3 of 13

If you do a wired, multi-layered gerbera that's dusted and steamed--like Jennifer teaches--yes, no less than $6 each--and they're worth more!!!!

You can "cheat" and do a non-wired one. You can make it as simple or complex as suits you and/or your client---one layer of petals with a painted center, 2 layers of petals with a molded center, dusted or not, steamed or not, dried flat or in a former.

With the plunger cutter, they're so easy and quick, for the short cut gerberas, I add $1-2/per, depending on what I do from the list above.

http://www.globalsugarart.com/product.php?id=20409&name=Sunflower,%20Gerbera%20Daisy%20Large%20by%20PME

Rae
LL

huskerfan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
huskerfan Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 11:31am
post #4 of 13

Thank you so much....

rosiecast Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosiecast Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 3:22pm
post #5 of 13

Blakes- I love that cake.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile