Rkt Head Fell Off...

Decorating By grey Updated 2 Jun 2010 , 4:37am by madgeowens

grey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grey Posted 25 May 2010 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 9

I will start by saying, I am very new to this and learn as I go. I recently had a friend wanting a 3d sitting Dora cake. I have made turkeys, rabbits, and santa with no issues, so I agreed.

Round 1- 5 10in rounds buttercreamed and covered in fondant with RKT arms and legs. Dora ended up looking like a linebacker so I decided to pull off fondant and shave her down.

Round 2- Dora's body is portioned well and all is great

Round 3- put the head on..I had taken a round plastic dowel and super glued it (covered that area with foil) and ran in all through the cake. It stuck out about an inch. Placed appox. 4 wooden dowels in head and through cake as well as the inch plastic rod.

Within 20 minutes the head had fallen back taking 1/2 the cake with it. Ended up quickly icing a 4 layer cake and giving that, along with Doras head and 1/2 of body intact ,to my friend with a sincere apology.

I am in culinary school for baking and pastry and this is making me question my career path decision...Just seems like I can't figure out support at all. Sorry to be so long winded. Any help with this or any other support tips would be great!

8 replies
anasazi17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anasazi17 Posted 25 May 2010 , 11:55pm
post #2 of 9

I'm not quite sure what happened, did your wooden dowels go all the way through the cake and the head? Sometimes things just go wrong, but that is how we learn (it stinks, but coming here to seek help is good!!) I am sure someone will have great advice for your next 3D cake.

Don't start questioning your career path after one situation. It is part of the journey..there will be more and you will learn to handle/prepare for them better with time icon_smile.gif

Chin Up!!

Jenny

grey Posted 26 May 2010 , 4:03am
post #3 of 9