New Here And Have A Fondant Question

Decorating By AM333 Updated 17 May 2010 , 2:26pm by AM333

AM333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AM333 Posted 16 May 2010 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 16

Hello, my name is Ann-Marie and this is my first try using fondant icon_smile.gif

My son is having a birthday party on Saturday and I wanted to make a simple cake with Wall-E on it and purchased some Wilton rolled out fondant. I was wondering if I could color it now and wrap it tightly to use for next weekend? I wanted to try it out before hand and then if need be, then get more. I have been told that the Wilton fondant is not tasty and was thinking of trying to make some, but have yet to find an simple recipe.
Any tips of the trade would be MUCH appreciated icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks a million and wish me luck icon_wink.gif

Ann-Marie

15 replies
diamondsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diamondsmom Posted 16 May 2010 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 16

Hi and welcome.....U're right, the wilton fondant is disgusting. U can make Marshmallow fondant, it's very TASTY and kids actually eat it and it's super easy to make. http://whatscookingamerica.net/PegW/Fondant.htm this is the recipe i use.

As far as coloring the Wilton fondant ahead of time, U can do that on the day of.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 16 May 2010 , 6:44pm
post #3 of 16

Wilton has improved the taste of their fondant. It's not my favorite but I would and have used it when I didn't have time to make my own.

Yes it will be fine to go ahead and color it. Actually it's best to color is ahead of time so that your colors can set. If your using Wilton colors (I use mostly Wilton) they seem to darken a little over time.