Cake Price

Decorating By icing31 Updated 15 May 2010 , 1:35am by chellescountrycakes

icing31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icing31 Posted 14 May 2010 , 12:58am
post #1 of 15

I'm just starting out, and I'm having a difficult time figuring out pricing. I'm doing a double layered 8" cake w/12 cupcakes.......homemade cake and buttercream icing. Any suggestions?

14 replies
Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 14 May 2010 , 1:18am
post #2 of 15

Welcome! It depends on how involved decorations are going to be. There is software called Cakeboss that helps you figure out pricing. I love it. I always wind up making deals with clients because I am primarily a hobbyist so I mainly do it for fun. I mainly want to try out new techniques so as long as the price of materials are covered, I'm cool (for now).

Good luck and post pics icon_smile.gif !

UpAt2am Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
UpAt2am Posted 14 May 2010 , 1:23am
post #3 of 15

depends on many things...

is it simply decorated with a piped border? and just icing on the cupcakes?
or are they elaborately decorated with gumpaste flowers or modeled figures?
what are other bakeries charging in your area (would your prices be competitive or extremely low)?
how much money do you have in the cake/cupcakes (ingredient cost...are you using top shelf vanilla and all organic ingredients or generic names throughout)?
how much do you have in materials (cake board, wrappers, box, labels)?
and of course don't forget to add in your insurance, utilities, business costs, marketing materials, etc.!
what are your fuel costs (back and forth to store for ingredients and delivery costs)?
and we still haven't even touched on time/labor put into the cake/cupcakes...

so as you can see, you have a lot of things to consider before deciding on "what to charge for a cake/cupcakes"

i suggest you do some research! thumbs_up.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 14 May 2010 , 1:24am