Flower Pot Cake

Decorating By barb419 Updated 6 May 2010 , 7:58pm by KHalstead

barb419 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
barb419 Posted 3 May 2010 , 5:56pm
post #1 of 10

I want to make a flower pot cake and was wondering how do I make the terracotta color for the pot? What is the best way to make stems for the flowers, can i use wires like for fake flowers? Where i live, i cant find edible paints/markers, is there something else i can use, like the wilton gel frosting colors? Last, how early can i make the flowers? this is my first time making gum paste flowers and i want to start early. Sorry for all the questions, and thanks for any advice in advance.

9 replies
LateBloomer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LateBloomer Posted 3 May 2010 , 6:22pm
post #2 of 10

Hi
To get the terracotta I would make 3 balls of paste saturated with orange red and brown (gel or powder colours). I would then take the orange and start mixing bits of red and brown into it. For the pot I would use pastillage or lots of gum powder mixed with the fondant. Like 2 teasp for 100 gm. Its difficult to give exact measurements. You have to feel how soft your fondant is. Give the pot enough time to stiffen, about 2-3 days depending on your climate.
You can make flowers weeks ahead. Just keep them covered and in a cupboard. Preferably not one facing the outside which gets a lot of sun. I store mine in an inside cupboard.
The stems are made with wire covered with florist tape. Insert these into a drinking straw and then into the cake.
If you want to know how to make a flower type the name of the flower and google or look at you tube or CC.
Have fun!

LateBloomer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
regymusic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
regymusic Posted 3 May 2010 , 7:00pm
post #4 of 10

I just use copper colored gel or power in a high concentration to get a terracotta color. HTH!

Lyndseyb52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lyndseyb52 Posted 3 May 2010 , 7:08pm
post #5 of 10