Making A Two Tiered Cake

Decorating By cujobujo Updated 4 May 2010 , 4:07pm by leily

cujobujo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cujobujo Posted 2 May 2010 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, I am fairly new to this. I can't find answers to these questions anywhere. I will be making a two tiered cake for a birthday party at the end of this month. It will be a 6" round with a 9" round underneath.
I want each tier to be two or three layers. What is the most common (or what do YOU like to do?), dividing your batter between two cake pans and coming out with two thick layers, or dividing your batter between three cake pans and coming out with three thinner layers? The only way I don't want to do it, is making two layers and torting them for four layers.

I wanted to use the WASC recipe for the 6" layer, and had read somewhere that half the recipe makes 3 6" layers filled 2/3 of the way full in 2" tall pans. If I wanted to make the same height of each layer for the 9" tier, would I use any recipe and also fill the pans 2/3 of the way full to get the same height?
I was planning on making the chocolate cake recipe from the back of the hershey's cocoa tin for the 9". Wouldn't all recipes rise differently, so would filling ALL the pans (9"'ers and 6"ers) 2/3 of the way full even equal out to the same height?
Last question, should I buy 2" cake pans or 3" cake pans???? Which one will get more use out of it in the long run? Nowhere can I tell if people are using the 2" pans or the 3" pans.

I guess to sum it up, if you were making a two tiered cake with a 6" on the top and a 9" on the top, which pans would you use adn how many of each and how full would you fill them? I see pictures everywhere of two tiered cakes that the poster says are 6" and 9" but doesn't tell me how many layers are inside, or what the height of each finished layers is...

PS I will be covering the cakes in fondant. Thanks!!!

4 replies
keriskreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile