Having A Hard Time With Prices.

Decorating By CakeMama625 Updated 30 Apr 2010 , 7:55am by karateka

CakeMama625 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMama625 Posted 30 Apr 2010 , 6:15am
post #1 of 5

I am just beginning to sell cakes and I came up with my pricing. I am (as far as I know) the cheapest in town because I am just starting out and don't have THAT much experience. By the time I add up how much everything will cost the price just seems outrageous to me and I end up cutting the price almost in half. A lady wants a 10" round fondant cake with a fondant ladybug on the top......pretty simple. According to my prices, thats $142! So I told her it would be $65. I know I need to just suck it up and stick with my prices. Does anyone/has anyone else felt this way just starting out? Does it get easier?! lol

4 replies
Cakechick123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakechick123 Posted 30 Apr 2010 , 6:53am
post #2 of 5

you are shooting yourself in the foot with the attitude of "im not experienced, so I must be the cheapest" . Its very difficult to lose the CHEAP CAKE LADY badge once its been pinned to your name!!!

You have to sit down and consider if you want to make money with this ie run it as a business or if you are just doing it for fun. If its for fun then by all means, do the cake for $65 and be happy with the $5 you made for all the hours work. BUT if you want to make money you are going to have to put your big girl panties on and act like a business person. You set your prices and those that doesnt like it can go somewhere else. It will take a while but if you have a good product they WILL come. and pay your prices.

With the above cake you are charging $1.70 per serving! Im not in your country, but from what I've seen on here, that is very low. The $142 price will give you $3.75 per serving, much more realistic IMO

KitchenKat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KitchenKat Posted 30 Apr 2010 , 7:01am
post #3 of 5