Hair!!

Decorating By cakelady11215 Updated 4 May 2010 , 6:29pm by FlourPots

cakelady11215 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady11215 Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 11:59pm
post #1 of 15

Anyone have any tricks, advice, anything you can share on how to make hair? Also, any advice on sculping the body would be great, I'm not experienced in this at all and have a cake to do for Friday. (pic attached) THANKS IN ADVANCE! icon_smile.gif
LL

14 replies
jhay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jhay Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 12:07am
post #2 of 15

I made a bride and used royal icing for the hair. I used my smallest star tip and it worked great!
LL

mykidscakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mykidscakemaker Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 12:17am
post #3 of 15

I've made hair with fondant, and used a pampered chef garlic press (a clean one!!)!! Remember those Play-Doh barber shop toys, where you could squeeze the hair out of the thingy.... (yeah... that make a whole lot of sense didn't it.... sorry!!) That's where I got my inspiration from!

emmommack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmommack Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 12:27am
post #4 of 15

For the few people that I've made with fondant, I've used both a Play-doh Fun Factory and a pasta maker for the hair...they equally work well. As far as making the bodies..there are some great video's on YouTube.

Sweet-Sensation-Cakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet-Sensation-Cakery Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 12:32am
post #5 of 15

I love you guys cakes! Thanks for the tips

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 12:36am
post #6 of 15

You can get the little clay extruders for like $10 at the craft store, they work great for hair and small details. Not really for big projects, but works great for small ones.

Polkadot79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Polkadot79 Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 12:38am
post #7 of 15

Cool idea about the PC garlic press...I'm actually a PC consultant. icon_smile.gif