Smoothing Butter Cream

Decorating By danielan77 Updated 29 Apr 2010 , 3:00am by dacash

danielan77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
danielan77 Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 3:22am
post #1 of 14

I'm rather new to cake deocrating and wonder how to smooth the butter cream where it looks flawless? I've tried the warm wet knife trick and it helps some but still can't seem to figure out how to get it really, really smooth.
Thanks

13 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 3:28am
post #2 of 14

What kind of icing are you using? There are different kinds of butter cream and they do not all smooth in the same way. Are you using the vegetable shortening + powdered sugar stuff? It is very difficult to smooth compared to European style butter creams.

Rachie204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rachie204 Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 4:08am
post #3 of 14

I just discovered the Melvira method and while I don't have it down perfect, it sure is making a huge difference in getting my icing smooth.

http://cakecentral.com/articles/126/quick-easy-smooth-icing-using-a-roller-melvira-method

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 12:39pm
post #4 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by prterrell

What kind of icing are you using? There are different kinds of butter cream and they do not all smooth in the same way. Are you using the vegetable shortening + powdered sugar stuff? It is very difficult to smooth compared to European style butter creams.

Can't answer until we know what type of buttercream icon_smile.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 12:50pm
post #5 of 14