Modeling Chocolate - Chocolate Chips

Decorating By mayo2222 Updated 22 Apr 2010 , 4:59pm by drakegore

mayo2222 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mayo2222 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:11pm
post #1 of 9

I am new to modeling chocolate, but need to make a chocolate lab (no pun inteneded) I thought I read somewhere that you aren't able to use chocolate chips, is that correct?

Thanks! icon_smile.gif

8 replies
pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:24pm
post #2 of 9

I took a class recently where the instructor melted 1/4 cup of karo syrup and a 12 oz bag of white chocolate chips. Worked like a charm.

ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:35pm
post #3 of 9

I used a bag of chocolate chips and 1/3 cup karo. Works great. Got the recipe for it here on CC. I think the amount of Karo for white chocolate chips differs.

mayo2222 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:36pm
post #4 of 9

Interesting, I tried last night with a 12 oz bag of semi sweet cc and just over 1/2 cup of karo. I let it cool in the frig for several hours. Took it out and started working a small part of it and it ended up just being a chocolatey mess.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:39pm
post #5 of 9

I make it quite often 12 oz. bag chocolate chips, 1/3 cup karo. PERFECT everytime icon_biggrin.gif

Yes the amout of karo is less, I believe, when using white chocolate.

mayo2222 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:45pm
post #6 of 9

How soon after you make it are you able to start working with it?

ddaigle Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 3:06pm
post #7 of 9