Cupcake Transport Question

Baking By gin2ham Updated 26 Apr 2010 , 10:14pm by gin2ham

gin2ham Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gin2ham Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 1:41pm
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone,

I am very new to making cupcakes and would very much appreciate all your inputs. I will be making cupcakes for my friend's party, the problem is she lives 5 hrs away from us. We will be driving to their place and I was not sure what's the best way to transport the cupcakes?? I will be baking the cupcakes a day before and icing them as well (buttercream). I will also be putting gumpaste flowers and butterflies, should I separate them and just decorate them on site?? I have read about the cupcake container, would that lock in the moisture of the cupcake if I place them there as soon as I finish icing them?? thanks so much in advance for all the help!!

16 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 1:56pm
post #2 of 17

I would just get some cupcake containers ( my cake deco. store sells them for about $.15 each) holds 6 cupcakes and has a snap shut lid and definitely seals in moisture ...........wait to put the decorations on til you get there....gumpaste will soften if left in contact with the buttercream and if you seal the cupcakes it willl soften the gumpaste even more.

Kima920 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kima920 Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:11pm
post #3 of 17

Yes! I use the same plastic containers and they are great. Though I wish I could find them in a set of 12 instead of 6.

gin2ham Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:23pm
post #4 of 17

KHalstead and Kima920,

thank you so much for the inputs. Do you think the buttercream would be ok for 5 hrs until we get to the place?

How about the cupcake courier? would that work? I am just afraid that my cupcake would be a disaster due to the driving situation.

Thanks in advance!!

Kima920 Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:27pm
post #5 of 17