Need Help For My 5 Year Old Daughters Birthday Cake

Decorating By bitrswt Updated 21 Apr 2010 , 4:08pm by Manotas

bitrswt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bitrswt Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 4:08pm
post #1 of 10

She likes I Carly and of course Princess themed things. I am new at this whole cake thing. So I need something that is easy but looks great!!! Please help me.

9 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 4:17pm
post #2 of 10

The best (and easiest) thing to do with that age (IMO) is to find about 5 or 6 different cakes that YOU feel confident you can pull of and that you think she'd LOVE and save or print them and then let her pick from them!

cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 2:23am
post #3 of 10

What about a Barbie/princess dress cake? I'm doing one for my 3 yr old daughter who LUVS princesses. You can buy the kit with instructions. Or a castle? I recently made one for my friend's 4 yr old. You can also buy a Wilton kit for that. These cakes can be as simple or complex as you want them to be.
If you have a Michael's near you, then you can get both for 40% off. There are also lots of great ideas here in the galleries and wonderful cc'ers to ask for advice! Good luck! Please post when you're done...

NerdyGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NerdyGirl Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 2:34am
post #4 of 10

I've only decorated three cakes so far, my almost 8 year old daughter's being the third. I let her design everything: type of cake, type of filling, design (cookie cutter outline of flowers filled in with stars...thank you, Wilton!), and icing colors. She LOVED having so much control. She added some little Wall-E figures for fun. Nothing says "Happy Birthday" like Wall-E and flowers! icon_wink.gif

JanJess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanJess Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 2:36am
post #5 of 10