Wedding Cake Design Help

Decorating By luv4cake Updated 7 Jun 2010 , 4:04pm by JGMB

luv4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv4cake Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 6:30pm
post #1 of 18

I am doing a wedding cake in a few weeks that the bride supplied a picture of for me (attached). It is a pretty simple cake except for the piping work. It looks like it was done with ganache or some type of chocolate. Can anyone please help me with what to use for the piping and how to do it. I have never worked with chocolate before. Also, I was wondering how to make the ribbon stay on the cake - pushpins or royal icing? Something else? Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif
LL

17 replies
Lyndseyb52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lyndseyb52 Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 8:07pm
post #2 of 18

Hiya

Personally I'd use piped icing. I know it's hard to colour RI that dark but black fondant softened with a little water is great for piping. If the bride hasn't specifically asked for chocolate and she knew I was covering her cake in fondant, then I wouldn't think she'd expect anything different.

I use double sided tape to attach ribbon to my cakes but I know alot of people use a dot of royal icing, I think it's just personal preference.

Good luck with the cake, it's a lovely design. Can't wait to see a pic icon_smile.gif

Lyndsey xx

DebbyJG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebbyJG Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 8:18pm
post #3 of 18

To me, that design work looks like fondant/gumpaste cut from a Cricut and not piping at all. Maybe?

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 8:24pm
post #4 of 18

I would definitely say its piped...I wouldn't think chocolate though, just a dark chocolate icing.

VNatividad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VNatividad Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 9:03pm
post #5 of 18

Beautiful cake, good luck.

Lyndseyb52, I'll have to try the softened fondant for piping tip, sounds interesting!

Lyndseyb52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile