Eager To Go Legal, But...

Business By SugarFiend Updated 30 Mar 2010 , 11:17pm by Loucinda

SugarFiend Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFiend Posted 28 Mar 2010 , 6:35pm
post #1 of 16

I'm hoping for some constructive input from all sorts of legal cakers out there! In a nutshell, I'm a cake decorating hobbyist looking to make it into a business, but intimidated by what may be my competition.

I've spoken with my local Health Department and Dept. of Agriculture, and am in the process of trying to secure a commercial kitchen to rent. Inspired by a particularly well-written business plan I ran across, I began scrutinizing my potential competition.

So... My first dilemma is that one of my potential competitors advertises on her website that she operates out of her fully-licensed home kitchen - something my Health Dept. person stated is absolutely impossible in our county. icon_confused.gif I'd like to know if she truly is, and if so, HOW (I'm jealous!). This is more of an irritation to me than anything. If I were to call her to find out, I'm not sure she'd be so willing to help me, and I couldn't be sure her information was accurate anyway. On the other hand, I'm not crazy about the idea of bringing her name up directly with the Health Dept. either, because I wouldn't want to "rat her out" indirectly. (I've done a lot of looking into this, and I can understand how she may THINK she's legal if she only spoke with the Dept. of Ag. But then again, I might be wrong; she may have dealt with someone at the local Health Dept. who interpreted the regulations differently than the person I've been dealing with.) The whole issue of home baking is about as clear as mud in my area. Has anyone else had such an issue?