Do You Make Or Purchase Your Fondant

Decorating By Redsoxbaker Updated 1 Apr 2010 , 1:26pm by Marianna46

Redsoxbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Redsoxbaker Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 4:28pm
post #1 of 53

I'm just curious because some of these cakes take so much fondant, does everyone make it or buy it when doing such large cakes? It seems like a great amount of work to make that much fondant. Especially if doing it at home!! icon_rolleyes.gif

52 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 4:40pm
post #2 of 53

I make my own especially if it's a large cake. I use Michele Foster's Fondant. It's so easy to make plus it is cost efficient and taste yummy. I do buy Wilton to make bows and decorations. That stuff is great for that.

anotherslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anotherslice Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 4:53pm
post #3 of 53

I'm new to fondant, but at the moment I purchase it online. Maybe in the future I'll try making it.

ttehan4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ttehan4 Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 4:53pm
post #4 of 53

I had been making my own with MFF recipe. Then I started to buy small packages of Ice n Easy at my cake store. They had a 2 lb pack on sale for 5.00 thought I would give it a try. Well, that stuff is okay on small cakes but not good when covering large cakes. So, I ordered a 20lb bucket of Satin Ice and after using it I will never, ever, ever make it or buy any other brand again. It is super easy to work with, takes color very well, and no mess and clean up from making it. I just ordered 80 more lbs!

malene541 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
malene541 Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 5:13pm
post #5 of 53

I make mine! I've only bought Wilton once and won't do that again. I make the MMF and the "old European" for different things. I live in a remote area where people aren't willing to spend much for a cake so I try to save on supplies to make it worth my time.

Redsoxbaker Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 5:15pm