How Do You Make A Cake From Scratch Moist?

Baking By eangelgod Updated 26 Mar 2010 , 6:52pm by jackmo

eangelgod Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eangelgod Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 10:29pm
post #1 of 22

icon_smile.gif I have been baking cakes from scratch for about 3 months now..I would like to know if the cake is suppose to be heavy, they taste good, but kinda heavy..

how do i get it moist and light say for ex basic cake..white , yellow, choco..

Thanks..

Eddie

21 replies
cammyblake1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cammyblake1 Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 10:37pm
post #2 of 22

Basically, you are probably wanting it to be just like a box mix with it's oily moistness, right?

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 11:47pm
post #3 of 22

There really isn't any way to get a scratch cake to have the same qualitites that a box cake has. They are two different things. Most scratch cakes have a heavier crumb. Most of us grew up on box cakes, and don't prefer that texture....and then some prefer it.

I know there are some scratch bakers that add a sugar syrup or liquor to their cakes to help it. You can flavor the syrups to add another "layer of flavor" to it. they will either pour or brush it on the already baked cake. I hope this helps!

tavyheather Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tavyheather Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 4:20am
post #4 of 22

I am by no means an expert but have been scratch baking since birth practically icon_wink.gif

Look for recipes with oil..butter based adds richness; oil, moistness..

general rule of thumb..

Try out some recipes..it's all about trial and error icon_smile.gif

Larkin121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Larkin121 Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 4:45am
post #5 of 22

First, moistness, as most people think of it, is actually an oily-ness. Oil makes your mouth think moist.