Gumpaste Flowers-Can I Learn Without A Course?

Decorating By cakesrock Updated 16 Mar 2010 , 8:02am by Ren715

cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 15 Mar 2010 , 5:07pm
post #1 of 12

I want to make a bouquet of flowers in either a pot or a vase. I am assuming gumpaste is the way to go for flowers?
But I was at a cake event yesterday and one of the local sugar craft guild instructors told me forget about doing it on my own and that it took her 25 years to get where she is with flowers and I really need a class.
I don't want to be presumptuous, but I'm self-taught (with the help of CC and video tutorials of course) on many techniques. And I also don't really have an extra $100 laying around right now for a class.
Is it too unrealistic to think that I could learn to do these flowers in a couple of months for a decent looking cake? Anyone know of any good tutorials?
If I cannot get up to par by May (that's when the class is and the cake is due before the class), then is there an alternative to gumpaste flowers that I can use? I plan on learning to do these eventually, anyway - it doesn't have to be now.
Sorry for the lengthy post! icon_smile.gif
TIA!

11 replies
Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 15 Mar 2010 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 12

I dont see any reason why you CANT learn your self, as long as youve got paitence and are willing to practise, then i dont think you need to go a class at all. Im self taught and learnt mostly from here and youtube and books from the library, and i think from what ive learnt, my roses are pretty damn good lol!

Try this link for LOTS of flower tutorials icon_biggrin.gif
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-654803.html