A Question About The "wire In Cake" Issue

Decorating By TrevorW Updated 22 Feb 2010 , 9:45pm by BlakesCakes

TrevorW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TrevorW Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 5:29am
post #1 of 5

i am new to cake decorating and having a desire not to poison anyone this early on i have been trying to research the "wire in cake" thing for a cake i need to do. i have searched and emailed tirelessly trying to find an answer other then coffee stirrers and green covered wire and still have not found a definitive answer. the thing i don't get is - if you just use a 304 stainless steel wire wouldn't that be considered food safe? there must be a safe metal wire out there somewhere

4 replies
Ballymena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ballymena Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 5:37am
post #2 of 5

I think stainless steel, aluminum or copper would be fine, sometimes we all get a bit too wrapped up in the food safe issues. I have a book on food additives and a lot of what we are eating is not edible and downright dangerous. If you're worried, find an Italian market or a good kitchen shop that handles different kinds of pasta. There is a pasta that looks like spaghetti but is called Bucatini which is a spaghetti with a hole down the middle. I use #6 but it comes smaller and larger. The #6 is perfect for a #22 gauge wire or thinner (the larger the wire number the smaller the size). I also use it to build my fondant roses on, it is very strong because of the size and completely edible in case someone bites it.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 5:38am
post #3 of 5

It's not that hard to put a coffee stir or hollow lollipop stick into the cake to cover the wire. It doesn't show and it doesn't get lost in the cake. That way you can use the floral wire that's available everywhere.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 22 Feb 2010 , 7:34am
post #4 of 5