New Decorator Needs Basic Tips

Decorating By msschef2001 Updated 15 Feb 2010 , 7:53am by SpecialtyCakesbyKelli

msschef2001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msschef2001 Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 3:05am
post #1 of 6

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to decorating cakes and need some basic tips without having to search through millions of forum posts. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. When rolling out fondant, how do you keep the fondant from sticking to the surface while at the same time not putting too much powdered sugar on your surface? Is there a way to completely remove the sugar once your fondant is rolled out? A dry brush just didn't do the job well enough.

2. When making tiered cakes, do you use cake boards under each tier? I would assume you would to make cutting easier. If you do, do you cover the board with fondant also?

3. When making fondant bows, do you have to add gumpaste to it to make it firmer? My first bows all fell flat.

4. If your fondant cracks, is there anyway to fix it without covering it, or do you have to start over?

Those are just a few of the many questions I have. Thanks again!

5 replies
cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 14 Feb 2010 , 3:22am
post #2 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by msschef2001

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to decorating cakes and need some basic tips without having to search through millions of forum posts. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. When rolling out fondant, how do you keep the fondant from sticking to the surface while at the same time not putting too much powdered sugar on your surface? Is there a way to completely remove the sugar once your fondant is rolled out? A dry brush just didn't do the job well enough.
I use shortening- I have not had luck with sugar or cornstarch
2. When making tiered cakes, do you use cake boards under each tier? I would assume you would to make cutting easier. If you do, do you cover the board with fondant also?