Sketching A Cake Design For A Customer

Business By ltj2010 Updated 8 Apr 2014 , 12:02pm by katebaking

ltj2010 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ltj2010 Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 10:56pm
post #1 of 20

Does everybody here sketch out a cake design to show the customer first? I am just starting out and I have not yet had a paying customer but I cant draw to save my life and it worries me. All the cakes I make I just invision in my head and just do it. Any thoughts would be appreciated

19 replies
sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:05pm
post #2 of 20

I can't draw either and I tend to tell customers that cake is my artistic medium rather than colouring pencils! However, I do give it a go. Have a look at the Templates gallery. I generally print the one I need and go from there. I also find that if I scan my sketch and email it to the customer it looks a lot better than it does in person.
Most people don't expect you to be a good artist as well as a cake-artist!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 12:46am
post #3 of 20

As Indydebi always said, "I draw stick cakes."

Sad, because my DH is an artist.

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 1:32am
post #4 of 20

Not once have I ever sketched a cake for a customer.

tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tesso Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 1:57am
post #5 of 20

funny thing...I have artistic talent, I can actually do oil paintings, sketches, clay .. you name it.. EXCEPT when it comes to my cakes. I can't draw out my designs to save my life. But I do manage to draw enough to get my idea across. Usually with a cake.. the image is in my head and I keep at my cake until it matches.

Lambshack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lambshack Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 2:08am
post #6 of 20