Michele Foster's Fondant Help!!!!

Decorating By mcampbell31 Updated 27 Jan 2010 , 8:23am by mcampbell31

mcampbell31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcampbell31 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 6:27am
post #1 of 9

Hi All! Ok this is my first time making fondant period. I made two batches of the MFF last night. Thought they came out great. Well today I go to break it apart and it does just that break apart without any type of elasticity. Hmm what's a girl to do? So I start kneeding it with some powder sugar and it's still not giving me that elasticity that say Satin Ice gives me. Is this the way the fondant is suppose to be? What am I doing wrong? Also it tends to start to get sticky. I'm so tired but I need to get this right. I have a cake due Saturday and I really don't want to have to go out and buy fondant after I spent so much time making it.

8 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 6:46am
post #2 of 9

I use MFF and I've never had a problem with it. I know that her receipe says that the first 5 ingredients must be measured accurately. Are your measurements accurate? Just trying to troubleshoot icon_confused.gif . Her receipe also says that if the fondant is too dry to knead in more glycerine. It is also easier to work with small amounts of fondant at a time then work them together. Hope it works for you as this is very good fondant. I make 2-3 batches of MFF each week. Good luck.

mcampbell31 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 6:59am
post #3 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamawrobin