Dream Cakes Sink In Middle

Baking By we2texans Updated 7 Feb 2010 , 7:29pm by we2texans

we2texans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
we2texans Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 3:43am
post #1 of 13

I have been baking and decorating cakes since the 80s and have used the cake recipe given to me by my first instructor. It's a dream cake that uses a boxed cake mix without pudding, 1 small box of instant pudding, 1 package of Dream Whip, 4 eggs, 1 1/4 cup water, and 1/4 cup oil. I've been using this recipe for over 20 years but the past few years I every time I try with this recipe I end up with sunken middles. As soon as I take them out of the oven, regardless of how long they bake, they start to sink in the middle. It doesn't matter what size or what depth cake -- it even happens with cupcakes and mini cupcakes.

I've adjusted temps from 325 to 350, I've adusted baking time. Still sunken middles.

I have loved this recipe -- moist, just right denseness, and great crumb.

I got to thinking tonight, after another failed batch of lemon cupcakes...have the boxed cake mixes changed their ingredients over the past five years or so that is just not accepting of pudding and Dream Whip?

I'm open to the possibility that I'm really screwing something up, but it just doesn't make sense to me that a recipe that I've used for years is not produce the same results it has in the past.

Has anyone else experienced this?

June

12 replies
cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 30 Jan 2010 , 4:19am
post #2 of 13