Fondant

Decorating By Kim1612 Updated 21 Jan 2010 , 1:42am by catlharper

Kim1612 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kim1612 Posted 20 Jan 2010 , 1:17pm
post #1 of 5

Hi All
I'm just kinda new to cake decorating, and was wondering what is fondant?
is it hard to work with? If you don't want to ice a cake, is that when you would use fondant? What does it taste like?? Yes call me stupid. LOL

thanks
Kim

4 replies
ThreeDGirlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThreeDGirlie Posted 20 Jan 2010 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 5

Fondant goes over a layer of icing... Taste varies widely by what brand you use, or if you make your own (stay AWAY from Wilton, it's gross!). I've actually not covered a whole cake with it since most people I know don't like the texture on a cake, but I love to use it for decorations. It's kind of like playing with Play-Doh!

MalibuBakinBarbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MalibuBakinBarbie Posted 20 Jan 2010 , 5:07pm
post #3 of 5

Hi Kim ~ Check out the recipe section here. I know there are a few fondant recipes (so you can see what's in it). If you want to get started right away with it, I suggest purchasing Wilton white. It does NOT taste good, so I would only use it to practice rolling it out, coloring it, making figures, quilting on it, etc. JUST to get you familiar with it. Also do a search of forum topics on this site. There are many. I don't use fondant often; but last September I made the marshmallow fondant (MMF) recipe from this site. I made the one that uses the jar of marshamallow fluff. I used it for the ladybug cake in my photos and it was a joy to work with! Also, YouTube probably has a lot of visual tutorials that you can check out to get a better idea of what it is and how it's used. Like ThreeDGirlie said, a lot of people don't seem to like the texture of it (it's almost kind of "chewy"). However, when I made my ladybug cake almost EVERYONE ate it! So I hope this helps get you started & have fun! icon_smile.gif