Considering Attending/entering That Takes The Cake...

Decorating By confectionsofahousewife Updated 14 Feb 2010 , 8:38pm by Mom0971

confectionsofahousewife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
confectionsofahousewife Posted 12 Jan 2010 , 6:50pm
post #1 of 8

I am somewhat new to cake decorating but really like and am definitely improving my skills. I am interested in attending the "that takes the cake"
show in Austin TX in february but wanted to get some feedback from other cake people. I am somewhat apprehensive to even go, let alone enter in a competition. I presume I would enter the adult beginner category. I wouldn't know anyone there and it just seems weird but yet I feel like I would like to try to compete. Does anyone have thoughts or suggestions or words of encouragement for a first-timer??? Thanks!!

7 replies
newmansmom2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newmansmom2004 Posted 12 Jan 2010 , 7:03pm
post #2 of 8

I completely understand where you're coming from. I've said for the last two years I was going to enter...but still haven't! Maybe this will finally be the year. If you're not sure about entering, then just go to the show strictly for fun. It's amazing to see all the cakes and the various levels from kids to expert adults. There are also demonstrations and classes available if you're interested in that type of thing.

I say definitely go and enjoy the show this year and enter next year if that's more comfortable for you. You'll have a better idea of what types of things people enter and maybe you'll be ready to go for it next year. The first year I went I didn't know anyone (hubby and I went) and we had a ball. He enjoyed it as much as I did.

Take shopping money! Last year there were lots of really good vendors.

confectionsofahousewife Posted 12 Jan 2010 , 9:08pm
post #3 of 8