Pros And Cons Of Putting Prices On Your Website?

Business By tarheelgirl Updated 11 Jan 2010 , 8:39am by MikeRowesHunny

tarheelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tarheelgirl Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 1:40pm
post #1 of 31

I have thought of putting a price and serving amount of under each cake photo on my website. This would be for a basic flavor/filling. Of course tax, delivery would be additional. I am a inspected/state approved home baker and am somewhere in the middle price point of my area. I had the thoughts that this may cut down on phone calls/emails with people just wanting to know a price. I do have a basic price per serving posted but some people just don't understand unless they see an actual picture of the cake in scale as to what they are getting.

30 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 2:12pm
post #2 of 31

Sounds like a good idea, but I gurantee people still ask you about pricing. icon_wink.gif

just_for_fun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
just_for_fun Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 2:14pm
post #3 of 31

You may put under each cake "$x.xx as shown, serves xx". This way ppl know that they can have this cake with a different # of servings, but the price changes too. Also, they will see what is basic and what is considered a more expensive cake.

tarheelgirl Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 2:26pm
post #4 of 31

Oh, I am sure people will still be asking which is fine. But, it may cut down the amount of people who call for an elaborate cake and when I tell them the price they are in SHOCK!! thumbs_up.gif I definitely need to put something in saying this is for this particular cake in XX servings with a basic flavor. Otherwise it may cause confusion and you know there is always someone that would say oh.. I thought it was $XX. Guess it won't hurt to try it out for a short time.

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 2:34pm
post #5 of 31