Pricing 1St Cake Request

Decorating By PandaBear1 Updated 19 Dec 2009 , 3:48pm by LaBellaFlor

PandaBear1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PandaBear1 Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 6:19am
post #1 of 17

So, I have my first cake request and I've made a few practice cakes. My problem is, I'm not at all sure what to ask for price. Any suggestions? I've attached one of my practice ones below. Couple things to keep in mind with the price: I'm a newbie still so there will most likely be flaws, it's for an acquaintance, and I live in a small town where people are picky about paying anything remotely pricey.

So, yeah, I'm attaching a picture. It's slightly larger than the one I'll be making. This one is a 9x13, 8x8 and two 2x4. The request is for an 8x8, 6x6, and 2x4. Can anyone suggest a decent price to charge?

Thanks!

16 replies
browniebatterer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
browniebatterer Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 5:23pm
post #2 of 17

$850.

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 7:19pm
post #3 of 17

You are so bad brownie...LOL!

_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 7:28pm
post #4 of 17

I don't know Panda Bear...I don't bother with designs like this. Meaning, I'm not going to carve and hack on different cakes to get measurements like you give. If I did this cake, it would look something like this:

Fondant covered (wouldn't do a design like that in BC, nooooo way, not clean enough looking)

2 six inch square packages, one sitting on a 10" square package, sitting on a 14 or 16" square package.

Torted, filled, all about 4 inches in heigth.

Total servings= about 184 (figuring the bottom was 14"), at $5.00 per serving= roughly $950.00

So Brownie...ya ain't off in my book! icon_biggrin.gif

Unless I made an egregious error in math or dimension estimations.

_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 7:30pm
post #5 of 17