Would You Be Offended?

Lounge By joyfullysweet Updated 16 Feb 2010 , 3:01am by mrspriss0912

joyfullysweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joyfullysweet Posted 14 Dec 2009 , 1:40pm
post #1 of 22

So, I'm new to the cake decorating world. I've been playing around with it for a while, but have just recently become a bit more serious with it. As of now I'm not trying to start a business, but it is something I would like to do in the future.

I've been posting my cake pictures on Facebook for my friends and family to see and have been getting wonderful feedback from them. One of my friends wrote on my wall that she decided she would like to start taking the Wilton classes (I'm almost done with Wilton 1). I thought this was great and wrote back to tell her that when she was done with 1 I would pick up number 2 with her.

Anyway, her mom writes after my comment, "[my friend] is already WONDERFUL at decorating cakes, just wait until she takes some classes." That just felt like a slap in the face to me considering she has seen pictures of all my work.

I'm not saying that I'm perfect, and that my work is of professional quality, but that just kinda hurt. Would you be offended? I knew if anyone would feel the same way, it would be my cc friends!

21 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 14 Dec 2009 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 22

Nope. I don't let myself get upset at stuff like that. Life is just too dang short and way too long.

Shake it off.

tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 14 Dec 2009 , 1:55pm
post #3 of 22