Stacking Question

Decorating By uberathlete Updated 10 Dec 2009 , 12:42pm by niccicola

uberathlete Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
uberathlete Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 1:34am
post #1 of 18

Hello all. I'm going to make a 4 tier cake but I'm a bit afraid of the center dowel that goes through all the tiers. Each tier will have a cake board underneath, and from my understanding that last dowel has to be sharpened and then it goes through. Wouldn't it be hard to get it through all the cake boards since they are quite think themselves? What's the best way to go about this? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!

17 replies
Tiffany29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiffany29 Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 1:51am
post #2 of 18

I am not an expert. I just made my first 3 tiered cake this weekend. Successfully!!
Yes the center dowel has to be sharpened. Hammer it in and make sure it goes through the bottom board as well or it will be useless.

Good luck! HTH!

dsilbern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilbern Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 1:55am
post #3 of 18

I thought the same thing when I did this the first time. But I followed the advice I found on these forums and it was surprisingly easy. Sharpen the long dowel and use a hammer to tap it through each of the cardboard rounds. It goes right through easily and works great. I had to move the cake after assembly across the room and it stayed right in place. icon_biggrin.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 1:57am
post #4 of 18

I read about the dowel-down-the-center on here for months before I was actually FORCED to try it because of the cake design. I was scared to death, but I'm tellin' ya, it works just like everyone says it does. That sharpened dowel goes thru the cardboards like soft butter! I kept my eyes open and EVERYTHING!! icon_surprised.gif

It's only scary the first time. I promise! thumbs_up.gif

tarheelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile