What Else Can I Do To Improve My Site?

Business By MissCakeCrazy Updated 23 Dec 2009 , 7:59pm by ButtercupMama

MissCakeCrazy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissCakeCrazy Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 1:03pm
post #1 of 31

I created a website with Vistaprint and can always see how many views I have received each day but I hardly ever get any queries or anyone getting back to me. Please note I am still a beginner and don't have hundreds of wedding cakes to put in my gallery. Please could someone give me any tips? My website is www.dreamycakesbyalev.co.uk

30 replies
60sBunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
60sBunny Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 31

First your cakes look lovely

but a search of google doesnt bring you up unless you put in herts and not hertfordshire, your also not on yell.com.

These are the two everyday searches I perfom when looking for something i want to purchase, I dont think your site is the problem I think your not advertising your geographical location well enough.

I would make your area clear on more pages an invest in some yell and google advertising, you can get it pretty cheap.

CrazyCakes13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CrazyCakes13 Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:20pm
post #3 of 31

I'm trying to remember how I got my site listed on Google. It was dead simple. Try that - also, I find if I post on other people' s websites and leave my site in my signature, I get a fair number of clicks based on that. The website looks great (as do your cakes!). Also, it took me a solid month or more to get a unique visitor! It's slow, but then all of a sudden, I landed a 100 unique people in a month!

MissCakeCrazy Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:55pm
post #4 of 31

I am not on yell.com as I think that you have to have a registered business which I don't yet. I typed my post code in and it didn't recognise it. Secondly, the only adveriting I have heard about from google puts you on the first page for a year and it costs £250 which I wasn't prepared to invest.