Ok So I Am No Expert...

Decorating By CharlieBrown0210 Updated 2 Dec 2009 , 8:06am by CharlieBrown0210

CharlieBrown0210 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharlieBrown0210 Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 6:44pm
post #1 of 14

Hi I am Charlotte, I am not the best cake maker in the world, but I am learning.
I am looking to make my sons 2nd birthday cake and I need some help if its possible.
Firstly, i want to make it a 2 tiered cake, also I was looking to use ready rolled icing, which I have never used and I wanted it to be coloured.

Where do I start?
Can I buy it coloured?
What type of dowel is best to use?

I would really appreciate any help given!

Thank you!
thumbs_up.gif

13 replies
all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 6:58pm
post #2 of 14

Welcome to CC Charlotte!

not knowing what stage of decorating/baking you're at, it'd be difficult to specify where you need to start.

Sure you can buy it colored...globalsugarart.com and others sell it in as small as 2lb sizes

I use bubble tea straws. A simple bag of wooden dowels(Wilton) would suffice though.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 7:00pm
post #3 of 14

Hi Charlotte, Welcome to CC.

Yes you can buy coloured fondant--Satin Ice, Fondariffic and some other brands carry them.

I prefer to color them myself because I can't afford to buy coloured fondant. Sometimes it is best to use powdered food coloring to prevent an huge change on the fondant's texture--with lighter colors, the gel ones would work.

For dowels, I use bubble tea straws.

Here is a compilation of tutorials that may help: http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-654103.html

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 7:02pm
post #4 of 14