Edible Images On Cookies

Decorating By BeeBoos-8599_ Updated 21 Nov 2009 , 3:53am by BeeBoos-8599_

BeeBoos-8599_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeeBoos-8599_ Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 1:43pm
post #1 of 15

Hi,
I am making sugar cookies this week and putting edible images of a large 30 on them. I have never used one (E.I's) before and wanted to get some input on what icing you would reccomend to put on the cookies prior to adding the images. I thought about using the cookie icing recipe that is in the wilton books. It goes on very smooth and dried firm (allmost like using color flow). If I use it should I apply the image immediately after putting the icing on and before it crusts? Any input would be appreciated. THANKS!

14 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 2:00pm
post #2 of 15

I put fondant on my cookis and it just seems real quick & esy compared to icing. I've never done an edible image before, but I know I've read on here that people have put them both on RI & fondant.

Dizzymaiden Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dizzymaiden Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 2:01pm
post #3 of 15

I had success putting them on fondant with a lightly brushed layer of corn syrup. I then turn them over to dry flat. It takes a good few hours before I feel comfortable putting decorations with royal icing on them.

BeeBoos-8599_ Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 7:11pm
post #4 of 15

I did not realize that this thread posted twice but oh well lol. Anyway, I cant use fondnat. Client does not like it. Any thoughts on which icing?

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 7:13pm
post #5 of 15

I'm sure you can attach them to royal icing, while the icing is still wet.

icingimages Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icingimages Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 10:15pm
post #6 of 15