Poured Fondant And Candy W/luster Dust Question?

Decorating By calynmom Updated 8 Nov 2009 , 12:59am by calynmom

calynmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calynmom Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 7:37pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone,

I am using the eagle, globe and anchor mold for the Marine Corps Birthday Ball cake I am doing next weekend. I have been playing around with several types of ways to do the mold. Gumpaste is ok and I've even used candy melts. But I'm looking for a cleaner more detailed look.

If I used poured fondant would it be to hot for the mold. ?

Also, If I use the candy mold will the Gold luster dust stick well on it.???

I've never used luster dust on candy before and wondered how it would turn out.

thanks for any help.

6 replies
pati3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pati3 Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 7:55pm
post #2 of 7

I use luster dust quite often on chocolate, just use a little brush and scrub it in. It works well on white chocolate or a darker color works well on milk chocolate. I would suggest trying it on a "throw away" piece to make sure it is what you want. It is usually a mess for me, but I like the result. Good luck, sounds like a complicated project. I would love to see pictures.

calynmom Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 10:07pm
post #3 of 7

Thanks Pati3...good to know it should work on the chocolate. Hopefully somebody can help me with the poured fondant idea.

calynmom Posted 6 Nov 2009 , 12:52am
post #4 of 7

I'm trying to bump this for some more responses.

jillangel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillangel Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 12:42pm
post #5 of 7