Failed Nfsc!

Baking By sarag30 Updated 4 Nov 2009 , 9:22pm by MichelleM77

sarag30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarag30 Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 1:03am
post #1 of 12

Hi! I am new to cc tonight I tried to make the NFSC, but failed! I do not know were I went wrong. My cookie dough looks more like sand and is not sticky enough to shape. Any ideas?
Thanks

11 replies
CookieMeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieMeister Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 1:36am
post #2 of 12

I've had this happen before where it's too dry. I actually hold back about 1/2 cup of the dry ingredients from every recipe.

But for what you have made, try adding more butter to see if it moistens up.

redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 4:58am
post #3 of 12

This is a recipe that definitely requires that you NOT scoop the flour with the measuring cup. Otherwise, you get too much flour, and the dough is way too dry. Adding extra butter and maybe a little water should fix it. I weigh my flour, and have never had a problem with the recipe.

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 5:50am
post #4 of 12

redpanda...how much should it weigh?

I've been wanting to try this recipe.

redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 7:07am
post #5 of 12

I use the conversion of 1 cup=4.4 ounces by weight. I've seen as much as 4.5 ounces per cup, too.

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 1:51pm
post #6 of 12

OK...thanks.

sarag30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarag30 Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 2:05pm
post #7 of 12

Thanks I'll try adding more butter. I need to start weighing instead of using a cup. I feel like I am never really getting the right amount.

newmansmom2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newmansmom2004 Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 2:10pm
post #8 of 12