Please Help Me!

Decorating By evbunt Updated 3 Nov 2009 , 4:03am by evbunt

evbunt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
evbunt Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 3:31am
post #1 of 6

Okay, I'm still very new to this, seriously the only 5 cakes I've made in my life that have been taken out of a pan before icing, I've posted. I've gotten braver...even started playing with fondant but I obviously just do it for fun and family. But, now my SIL wants me to do a Hannah Montana guitar cake for this Friday, but they are 5 hours away. (We were going to go there for the weekend, but didn't know I needed a cake til about 30 minutes ago) We are driving up Thursday night, will be gone all day Friday and the party is Friday evening. Since I've been making my cakes early in the week and freezing them and I take so much time for crumb coats and fillings, I have no clue when I make this cake and how I transport it and when I ice it, especially. I figure I'll do buttercream with fondant accents (which I can do here tomorrow) but I don't know about anything else. Do I make icing here and take it up there and ice it late Thursday night? If so, will it be okay during transport - do I need a cooler? Or do I have to make the BC up there, too? Can I crumb coat it here and ice it there (many, many hours later)? Also...all in the vehicle...so...no fridge. I know there are a ton of questions here, but please help!

5 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 3:41am
post #2 of 6

What is the weather like where you live and where you're going? If it's cooler weather there already, then the cake and buttercream should do fine.

What kind of buttercream do you use?

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 3:49am
post #3 of 6