How Do I Make Gumpaste Smooth?

Decorating By Babygrlny Updated 31 Oct 2009 , 12:32am by Babygrlny

Babygrlny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Babygrlny Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 12:21am
post #1 of 8

I'm sure there is a post out there like this but I can't seem to find what I'm looking for.

I am a beginner and tyring to teach myself how to work with fondant and gumpaste. I am currently making a football helmet cake for my brother in law and am having difficulty with the face guard. I measured and cut wire and am molding gumpaste around it. I'm just not sure how to smooth out the creases. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!!!! icon_confused.gif

7 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 2:00am
post #2 of 8

Knead a tiny bit of shortening into your gumpaste before you start. It should feel smooth and satiny when it's ready to work with.

Babygrlny Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 2:04am
post #3 of 8

Thank you, I have done that. Then I start with the gumpaste in the middle of the wire and roll it outwards around the wire. The problem is that I have to bend the wire to get the form and then I get creases and breaks in the gumpaste and don't know how to smooth them out.

ttehan4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ttehan4 Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 2:17am
post #4 of 8

Rub shortening on the cracks. Once you rub them a little they will warm up and the shortening will help smooth everything out and give it a smoother finish too.

madgeowens Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
madgeowens Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 2:22am
post #5 of 8

You may need to knead it more.......if you roll it in your hands it will warm up from the friction and warmth of your hands and smooth it......do this prior to rolling it out to cover face mask hth

Babygrlny Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 1:31pm
post #6 of 8