How To Marketing Strategies

Business By ccc1234 Updated 28 Oct 2009 , 11:55am by edith1

ccc1234 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccc1234 Posted 27 Oct 2009 , 10:34pm
post #1 of 7

Im starting my cake business outside my house. I have been decorating cakes for 10 yrs now but not in mass quantities. I would love some advise on how to go about marketing my product. What has worked for some of u gys?? What do you do for mailers?? How to approach corporate ppl?? My main fear is that im not a great sales person i shut down when ppl tell me no and I give up. But now its different I need to do this for my family and the big investment that Im making. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

6 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:40am
post #2 of 7

Re: Approaching corporate folks ... here's a long story.

I worked in a corporate office and some dessert shop opened close by. They did what we all say to do .... go door to door with samples. They dropped in our office with a slice of cake (a SLICE of cake) on a plate (well, they had 3 pieces, not just one slice) and a flyer. We, of course, ate it, but the office manager asked, "Why would we call them?" She was asking in the sense of looking for ideas, not in a sarcastic sense.

Their mistake was droppping of cake and saying, "Here! Try this! We're open now!" THey forgot one of the most important aspects of sales: What's in it for the customer? They forgot to give us reasons to call them. They forgot to plant the seed of ideas.

As someone who has worked in corporate for decades, let me share some ideas on what you can do to get the attention of corporate folks. Point out WHY they need a special cake: monthly birthdays (some offices get a cake a month for employees), milestone anniversaries (employees who hit 25 years with the company), new product launches, an kickoff to an incentive program, company holiday parties and employee picnics. Show them you can do their company logo on a cake.