Castle Wedding Cake

Decorating By DakotaDesigns Updated 7 Nov 2009 , 9:11pm by Deb_

DakotaDesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DakotaDesigns Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 6:09pm
post #1 of 20

Ok ladies and gents, it's crunch time and I'm stressin. I have a wedding cake that I am just getting started on. The base is going to be two layers of cake, 4 different flavors and measure 24x30. That will be the castle grounds. The castle is going to be 12x15x(approx.)18. I have a couple things I need ya'lls help with (this is my first wedding cake!). The bride's mom is providing the fillings (family recipe's). My sister-in law is baking the cakes for me (thank heavens!) and I am doing all of the construction and decorating.
With the castle and support, I have not had a cake of such proportion! Would 1/4" Diameter dowels work in conjunction with foamboard to support? And would I want to do supports every two layers or could I get away with 3?
For the stone look. I have a very super extremely strict budget doing this cake. The bride wants an 'old stone' look like the example picture below has. I have no mats with stone pattern, I have no money to buy one either. I was thinking of hand tooling them all in but that would take a week alone! (I work full time too). Any suggestions how to acheive it?
Also.......
LL

19 replies
DakotaDesigns Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 6:12pm
post #2 of 20

She wants the same coloring as in the picture. I don't have an airbrush so I am painting by hand. She wants a matte finish to the cake though and not glossy. How can I hand paint with a matte finish?