Dulce De Leche Questions...

Decorating By smithsm Updated 10 Oct 2009 , 12:41am by mgwebb68

smithsm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smithsm Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 4:15pm
post #1 of 11

I am making a chocolate cake with Dulce de Leche (premade from can) as the filing. I have never used it before.
Will it be too sweet by itself? Or do I need to mix it with buttercream to get a better filing? Can I mix it with buttercream to use as the icing? I am thinking it may taste ok, but it wont crust very good and be hard to decorate with..
Do I need to refrigerate this cake?

Thank you guys so much for all of your help.. I feel like I am always asking questions icon_smile.gif

10 replies
mgwebb68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgwebb68 Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 4:21pm
post #2 of 11

I haven't tried mixing anything with my BC but I would think it would really change the consistency.

It might be a little sweet, but that depends on what each person likes (example, I love BC, my DH thinks it's too sweet and doesn't like it). I would make sure that you use a dam of stiff BC around the outside of the layers so that you don't have your filling trying to escape and causing problems with you exterior frosting, also put a thin layer of BC on the top of the layer then the filling, then a thin layer on the bottom of the next layer. That way it would really be a filling, and it wouldn't soak into the cake.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 5:59pm
post #3 of 11

I use the premade in the can all the time. Chocolate cake with the dulce de leche is my most requested. I do not put a layer of buttercream on the cake, as this is a thick filling and I haven't noticed it seeping into the cake at all. I do use a damn but never a super stiff one. Don't put a super thick coat of it though.