I Don't Want To Break The Law, But I Do Want To Help

Business By DefyGravity Updated 2 Oct 2009 , 8:04pm by Sweet_Treats_1

DefyGravity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DefyGravity Posted 2 Oct 2009 , 2:55am
post #1 of 18

My friend is organizing a benefit for a friend of hers who has just been diagnosed with a very aggressive cancer.

For part of the raffle at the benefit, she asked me to donate a certificate for a cake (I would decide the servings and everything). There is absolutely nothing in it for me, except the joy of doing something that would mean a lot to her.

I'm a hobby baker. Would it be legal if I did that?

Thanks icon_smile.gif

17 replies
Price Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Price Posted 2 Oct 2009 , 3:06am
post #2 of 18

Just my opinion, but you wouldn't be selling anything. I would do it.

patticakesnc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakesnc Posted 2 Oct 2009 , 3:14am
post #3 of 18

I think I would call my local heath or agricultural dept to see on that. Each state is different. I know here you aren't suppose to sell unlisc. but people donate for non profit all the time. I personally don't see a problem but I am not the one that would be enforcing any laws on it. Be safe...just call.

DefyGravity Posted 2 Oct 2009 , 3:20am
post #4 of 18

Thanks guys, I'll call in the morning. Since the real prize is going to be a certificate for a cake made later, should I bring a dummy for people to look at, or would pictures be enough? (I just got my first dummies today and I'm a little overly excited to use them, haha)

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 2 Oct 2009 , 3:23am
post #5 of 18

since it's non profit wouldn't it be like the church bake sales?

ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 2 Oct 2009 , 3:52pm
post #6 of 18

HAve you thought of must make a cake and donating the actual cake?