Milk Allergy Cake And Icing?????

Decorating By SimplyIced Updated 25 Jul 2017 , 10:05am by Asutton

SimplyIced Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SimplyIced Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 3:15pm
post #1 of 13

I've had a request for a cake.....with no milk! My customer's daughter has a milk allergy. I really have no idea on this one. Anyone ever encountered this? Are there good recipes out there? I'd like to help them out, but I'm concerned about the allergy! Thanks everyone!!

12 replies
rainbow_kisses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rainbow_kisses Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 3:23pm
post #2 of 13

i use a vegan chocolate cake when i make milk allergy cakes or a very basic flour, sugar, margerine,egg recipe. as for icing most sugarpastes have no milk in them so that should be safe.if you want my vegan recipe i can give you it icon_smile.gif

divaessence Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divaessence Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 3:27pm
post #3 of 13

You can also make the Wilton class buttercream (all vegatable shortening, no butter) with water instead of milk. Use 1/2 tsp vanilla flavoring and 1/2 tsp butter flavoring. I use this all the time and people love it.

leahk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leahk Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 4:28pm
post #4 of 13

I swap soy milk in recipes to make them non-dairy.

Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 4:32pm
post #5 of 13

I do soy milk, too, and swap vegan margarine for butter.

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 5:05pm
post #6 of 13

When I make BC, i use non dairy creamer in place of milk.

Kims_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kims_cakes Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 5:26pm
post #7 of 13

You might want to check with the mother and see how serve the milk allergy is first. My son has a "mild" milk allergy, and can tolerate some forms of milk. But I know others who cannot tolerate any form of milk, such as casein, whey, etc. Some forms of milk are well hidden in the list of ingredients. Milk allergies can be tricky. For instance there is casein in soy cheese, so if one is severely allergic they can't even eat soy cheese!

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 5:34am
post #8 of 13

Please be very careful...

Advertising claims for non-dairy products are not to be believed by anyone with food allergies or sensitivities because they ALL contain milk protein (caseinate)...

What's in popular liquid non-dairy creamers:
(Also contains Sodium Caseinate - a milk protein that gives flavor and texture.)

Coffee-Mate powdered creamer also includes Sodium Caseinate:

Rich's Bettercreme ingredients:

High fructose corn syrup, water, partially hydrogenated palm kernel oil, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, contains less than 2% of the following: Sodium Caseinate (a milk derivative), soy protein concentrate, polysorbate 60, carbohydrate gum, sugar, salt, artificial flavor, soy lecithin, polyglycerol esters of fatty acids, to preserve freshness (potassium sorbate), xanthan gum.

Cool-Whip ingredients:
(Sodium Caseinate.)

What to avoid if you have a milk allergy:
(One of the ingredients IS sodium caseinate.)

Misleading labeling:

(Nondairy products that contain sodium caseinate will be required to say that the casein is derived from milk. "Nondairy might be misleading," Ms. Campbell said. "It can be a problem for people who are milk sensitive.")

Dream Whip ingredients:

The natural butter flavor from KitchenKrafts contains:

Ingredients: Water, diacetyl and steam distillates of fermented dairy products, propylene glycol, processed butterfat, xanthan gum.

The Wilton butter flavoring is certified kosher, but not parve or pareve (dairy-free) so I wouldn't use it.


Edited to add updated info on Dream Whip ingredients.

leahk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leahk Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 6:10am
post #9 of 13

Just as a tip- if a product has a kosher symbol on it followed by the word "pareve" that means that it is 100% dairy-free.

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 2:22pm
post #10 of 13

Anything labeled Natural Flavoring that is butter flavored has milk or butter derivative ingredients in it. Unless is says Vegan or Pareve is is not certified to be dairy-free and may contain trace amounts.

Non-dairy is the stupidest thing the FDA allows and it is very misleading!

Lethicin is also a milk/animal ingredient unless stated soy lethicin which is plant derived.

SimplyIced Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SimplyIced Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 8:49pm
post #11 of 13

WOW! Thanks everyone so much for your replies! I was afraid of this information, and I'm not sure I even want to risk making this for them. I would feel awful if something happened. I may talk to the mom again and get her take on all of this wonderful information! Thanks again CC' are the best!

sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 9:46pm
post #12 of 13

SimplyIced, I have a fantastic dairy free, wheat free orange and almond cake recipe. It's super moist and really yummy. If you'd like a copy just PM me. I'm always happy to share!

Asutton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Asutton Posted 25 Jul 2017 , 10:05am
post #13 of 13

Do not use Wilton products that say "processed in a facility".   We ended up in the hospital.  

Quote by @%username% on %date%