Copyrighted Characters What Do You Do?

Decorating By heavenlys Updated 13 Sep 2009 , 4:36pm by indydebi

heavenlys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heavenlys Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:17pm
post #1 of 18

Well I have been baking cakes for nine years now and have been breaking mother's hearts for that long too. I stand my ground about the licensed characters.
and we try to be creative and I tell the mom's we can spend $6 on an edible image or they could go buy a toy for $6 and we will implement it on the cake but lately there have been a TON of new mommies and I am exhausted with having to explain over and over again. ANd I understand their frustration I am a mommy too and I understand they want a really cool cake.
So what do you do? Just looking for creative legal ideas to make them happier.
TIA

17 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:29pm
post #2 of 18

I would do exactly what you are doing! They can buy a toy to put on the top - or you can make something that resembles the character with lots of different colors and call it good. Do you have a website? I'd just put the policy on your website.

Or perhaps if someone inquires about a kids cake - the first thing out of my mouth would be - "now you know we can't do copyrighted characters".

cakegrandma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegrandma Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 18

heavenlys,