How Much Do Cake Decorators Get Paid?

Business By mrsb37 Updated 26 Oct 2013 , 12:47am by mommy1st

mrsb37 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsb37 Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 7:55pm
post #1 of 30

I've been making cakes out of my home on-the-side for several years, and teach Wilton classes. I'm thinking of applying for a job as a decorator somewhere after my kids go to school, so I'm wondering:

1) How much do cake decorators usually get paid?

2) What kind of background/experience do bakery owners look for when hiring decorators?

Thanks for any advice/input!

29 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 8:08pm
post #2 of 30

Most grocery store decorators get paid between $7 and $10 an hour, depending on the store, your experience, and time with the company. A private bakery may pay less or more, depending on how much business it does and how upscale a place it is.

Take copies of pics of your best work with you when you fill out the application and give a copy to the bakery manager or store manager (whomever is doing the hiring).

Be prepared to ice and decorate a cake during your interview. You will at the very least be asked to demonstrate that you can make a rose and write legibly.

Be prepared to work really hard and to churn out those cakes! When I worked as a groc. store decorator, we had to ice and decorate 40 quarter sheet cakes per 8 hour shift. On a Saturday, we'd easily have over a hundred orders, most of them do for pick-up at Noon. Which meant we started on them on Friday and we started our Saturday shifts VERY early and did not have a break for a straight 10 hours. Seriously, we were lucky if we could run to the bathroom and grab a sip of soda here and there.

GottaLuvCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GottaLuvCake Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 8:11pm
post #3 of 30

working as a grocery store decorator totally sounds like it would take the fun right out of it!

ButtercupMama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile