Filled Cupcakes?

Baking By marushka Updated 7 Sep 2009 , 2:34am by Pastry-Panda

marushka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marushka Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 11:18pm
post #1 of 9

I'm new at cupcakes but wanted to make some with some filling piped in.
Is this something you do when they're still warm? And what is the best # tip to use?
Thanks for any help!

8 replies
backermeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
backermeister Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 12:15am
post #2 of 9

No you should wait til they are cooled before filling. Some people remove a small core from the cupcake fill and replace kinda like a cork in a wine bottle while some people choose to take a star or round icing tip and place it down through the top and squeeze the filling in until the cupcake feels full. Hard to explain that process but you will probably understand what I mean once you try it. Similar to filling a creampuff.hth icon_smile.gif

dorie67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dorie67 Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 12:29am
post #3 of 9

I have done this once before and it was fun, the only thing is that when you are filling them keep an eye on the cupcake, I filled some too much and they blew out of the wrapper! Good Luck. princess.gif

Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 12:38am
post #4 of 9

I do a white chocolate cupcake with raspberry filling. The best thing I ever bought was the Wilton Cupcake Kit. It has a long tube-like tip that is perfect for filling. It is narrow and angled at one end, insert it into the cupcake, use gentle pressure to fill the cupcake as you lift the tip out at the same time. It makes the most gorgeous filling and just the perfect amount with only a small hole on the surface of the cupcake.

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=2A9AFACA-423B-522D-F5C6F759E9566956

HeatherWantsCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HeatherWantsCake Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 1:01am
post #5 of 9