Wilton Classes

Decorating By firelegs Updated 31 Aug 2009 , 4:14pm by TexasSugar

firelegs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
firelegs Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 12:01am
post #1 of 26

I'm a newbie - took classes 1 & 2 in another state and recently moved. Today I went to sign up for the fondant & gum paste and the girl told me I couldn't, as I needed course 3 first. Is there any truth to this? I was always told by my previous instructor that after course 1, you could do the classes in any order. Plus, course 2 doesn't have anything to do with fondant, so why is it necessary to do them in order?
I'm really annoyed by this so-called rule.

25 replies
OMGitsaLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OMGitsaLisa Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 12:21am
post #2 of 26

Find somewhere else to take the classes if they don't want your business. I am finishing course 1 this Saturday and have already signed up for Fondant and Gumpaste with the same instructor. She recommends that we take 3 before 4, but doesn't require it. I have never heard someone say that you have to take them in order other than that course 1 needs to be first.

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 12:22am
post #3 of 26

My Wilton instructor made us take them all in order as well. But I have heard on here that some people just take the fondant class. Meaning that they skip course 1, 2 and 3. I would leave your name and phone number at the register. The Wilton instructor can call and talk to you. Perhaps she will let you go ahead and take the fondant class.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 1:23am
post #4 of 26

Wilton is actually going to remove the numbers from the courses here soon. You can take them in any order (but you have to have taken course 1) I think after the changes it won't be so confusing. You won't have a number on it so people won't think you have to follow them in order. icon_wink.gif