Cake Sticking To Pan

Decorating By nydivagirl Updated 26 Aug 2009 , 3:17am by Rylan

nydivagirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nydivagirl Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 6:09pm
post #1 of 9

As a newbie, I have problems with my cake coming out of my pans in one piece. I spray pans with Pam for baking. I test to make sure the cake is down by the toothpick method. After I take the cake out of the oven how long should I let the cake cool before I take it out of the pan. I find my cakes are always hard on the top, I use box cakes, Pillsbury sometimes Duncan Hines, what am I doing wrong.

8 replies
varika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
varika Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by nydivagirl

As a newbie, I have problems with my cake coming out of my pans in one piece. I spray pans with Pam for baking. I test to make sure the cake is down by the toothpick method. After I take the cake out of the oven how long should I let the cake cool before I take it out of the pan. I find my cakes are always hard on the top, I use box cakes, Pillsbury sometimes Duncan Hines, what am I doing wrong.

1. Try lining the bottom of the pan with parchment paper when you spray. Spray the bottom, and the paper will hold still while you pour but not when you take the cake out. Spray the paper, and it'll come off the cake with no sticking at all.

2. For cakes that are hard on top, try turning down your oven. I don't cook higher than 325 degrees for any cake. It takes longer, though you should always start with your minimum time and check to avoid nasty surprises. You can also use bake-even strips or towel strips, either or soaked in water--it helps your cake bake more evenly and also makes the air in the oven a little more humid, which helps the cake stay a little moister as it bakes.